Beet Salad

My mom has been making this beet salad for as long as I can remember. While I never liked beets as a little girl, I am trying to incorporate them more into my cooking. Both because they are very good for you and because they are a great yet under-appreciated seasonal veggie. This salad takes all of about 10 minutes to make, and most of that time  is spent grating the beets.

BEET SALAD
The photo above shows about 2 servings ( I just made some for my husband and I). I recommend making the salad shortly before you eat it and do not keep leftovers, because the fresh beet juice will make this salad quite juicy and watery by next day, which you do not want. Also, try not to wear any white or light-colored clothing while vigorously grating juicy red beets… just a word of advice.

So, for two servings, you will need:

2 medium raw beets, grated

1 large garlic clove, finely chopped or crushed

1 generous tablespoon of mayo. (The mayo is not a starring ingredient here, hence we are not using very much. It’s just here to add a little creaminess and help the other ingredients stick together on your fork).

1 teaspoon of toasted nuts (my mom likes to use chopped walnuts, but I had pine nuts on hand, and they worked just as well).

a pinch of salt and pepper to taste (do not over-do the salt because it will compete with the beets’ sweetness)

Mix all ingredients together, and serve Russian-style in a small crystal bowl. The ingredients may sound very simple, but the sweetness of the beets, combined with pungent garlic, creamy mayo and crunchy toasted nuts – makes something delicious. And as a bonus, just look at that beautiful fuchsia color!

P.S. If you are a beet-lover, also check out my Borsch recipe!

This entry was posted in Russian recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beet Salad

  1. Pingback: Lunch of the Day – 10/23/2014 | russianmartini

  2. Pingback: Like salmon in a tree | russianmartini

  3. Alina says:

    Yaay I haven’t made this salad for ages, we should make it some day. I’d love to try making it with pine nuts as you suggest!

Leave a comment