Egg with asparagus and mushrooms

My husband hates mushrooms, unless they are battered and deep-fried or stuffed with seafood and in other ways de-mushroom-ified. I, on the other hand, have loved mushrooms since I was a little girl and my passion has not subsided over the years. I also love pretty much ALL green vegetables (as does my little niece, Sophie – she must take after auntie! 🙂 And asparagus is definitely at the top of that list. Eggs have also been a life-long love affair for me. So this morning after hubby left to play tennis, and I happened to have both asparagus and fresh mushrooms in the fridge, you can imagine my excitement. This was my breakfast. Delicious and very healthy. You could eat this with a side of crusty bread, but I am trying a gluten-free diet for a month or so, so I just ate mine as is.

EGGS WITH ASPARAGUS AND MUSHROOMS

Now, of course, if you hate mushrooms (as many people actually do), or asparagus is not your thing, you can substitute for any other veggies that you like.  And if you are cooking for two or four, just double or quadruple all the amounts below, and you might even be able to fit all four eggs into a large enough pan. But if this is a breakfast just for you…

You will need:

1 egg (I prefer all my animal proteins organic and/or free range)

4 stalks of fresh asparagus, cut into 1-inch pieces, ends discarded

1 large mushroom (I used a baby bella)

salt/pepper to taste

1 tablespoon of coconut oil (It’s okay to use butter, but coconut oil’s amazing flavor, paired with its health benefits, is a hands down winner)

Heat the pan on medium, then add the coconut oil. When the oil is hot, add the chopped vegetables and stir until they start to turn a bit soft. make a little hole in between the veggies with your spatula and break the egg directly into it. The yolk will stay in the center, and the white will spread out and “catch” the veggies into it. Sprinkle the entire thing with some sea salt and pepper. Turn the heat down to medium low and cover the pan with the lid. This will help the top of the egg cook through as well. When the top of the egg is no longer runny, it is done. If the egg takes a bit longer and the veggies start to brown or crisp up, don’t worry, they’ll taste just as good!! Especially if you are using the coconut oil, as it has a high burning point.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

