Lunch of the Day

Image courtesy of Seminole County Public Schools

Image courtesy of Seminole County Public Schools

So, as I was sitting here and wondering what to bring for lunch tomorrow that might be both tasty and healthy, while not requiring a lot of time and complicated recipes, I realized that there are probably countless people out there who wonder the same thing. We go through our daily grind with one single meal to break up the monotony of the day, and that meal needs to be yummy, yet healthy to give us the right mood and sustained energy for the rest of the day.

As most of my readers already know, I’m not big on pre-packaged/frozen foods, so those are usually not an option. However, to get a “healthy” lunch option out at a restaurant every day is not financially feasible for most of us.

Thus, I’ve decided I’m going to start challenging myself to create healthy, colorful and delicious lunches. I have started a new category on the blog under which to post each “lunch of the day” – that way, the responsibility I feel toward you, precious reader, will motivate me to not be lazy or tempted to just grab a frozen burrito somewhere. I am confident that with a little bit of creativity, the right grocery shopping list, and just a few extra minutes every day, I can turn what’s in the fridge or leftover from dinner into a lunch I will look forward to all morning long!

I won’t get into the nitty-gritty of calories counts, but I will try to point out the proportion of protein/carbs and health benefits/nutrition of my chosen ingredients. I am sure some of the time what I consider to be “healthy” might be a blurred line, and I will pretty much never use “low-fat” anything. But other than that, I hope you join me on this new adventure and post some of your own great lunch ideas in the coming few weeks or months! Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Lunch of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

