Crab-stuffed Mushrooms

DSCN0981

This is one of my parents’ favorite restaurant appetizers, so I recreated it and served it recently at dinner. It  is easy, delicious and comes out consistently good. Most of the work is involved in chopping and mixing the stuffing/filling ingredients.

You will need:

6-8 medium/large baby bella or white button mushrooms, center stalks pulled out.

For the crab stuffing, see my recipe for crab cakes.

Spray a glass baking dish with some oil, and lay the mushroom caps top down, side by side, relatively tightly so that they don’t topple over when you fill them with the stuffing. Spray the mushrooms with a bit more oil, then salt and pepper.

Using a tablespoon, fill the mushrooms with the filling, nice and full. Cover with foil and bake at 350F for about 20 minutes. Uncover, sprinkle with some shredded cheese, and bake for another 10-15 minutes or until the cheese melts over the stuffed mushrooms.

Zest a bit of lemon over the top for garnish, and serve as hot as you can!! Your guests will be very impressed, even if they aren’t your parents 🙂

In other news, I do believe (and hope I don’t jinx it), that Spring is finally here in our unpredictable Midwestern city!!! I got my first pedicure of the season and Mom brought home these interesting specimens of flora (undoubtedly not local).

DSCN0988DSCN0987DSCN0985DSCN0986

This entry was posted in Other Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crab-stuffed Mushrooms

  1. wow – these crab mushrooms look great. i looked in my fridge this moment and there are crabs and … mushrooms. so i know what to try tomorrow 😉

    if u like also watch my blog at http://foodtechnicstyle.wordpress.com

  2. Have a great shindig! Did you ever try the Shuba? I want an honest review if you did – I know it can be an acquired taste. 😉

  3. YUM. I just jotted down your crab cake recipe. I’ve now got a hankering for mashed potatoes! This looks fantastic. Perfect timing. I have a little shindig dinner party scheduled later on in the week. Enjoy the week! T. (I’m from Baltimore. My grandmothers always added a little Old Bay to crab cakes and steamed shrimp.)

Leave a Reply

