New wintertime hobby

It’s no secret that I love to cook. But Winter frost brings out in me the strongest of nesting instincts. More cooking, more organizing, decorating, and now also… knitting. I took up knitting for a while as a young girl (and big nerd), and recently re-connected with one of my fave hobbies when I couldn’t find a scarf quite to my standards. I wanted a chunky, super warm scarf made of a natural yarn (there is so much polyester out there!!) – I didn’t find one. So, I figured, what better way to spend some free time on a cold evening than knitting myself the perfect scarf?

For a while in Russia (and perhaps still nowadays), the “truba” scarves were popular (шарф труба). Truba is literally translated as “pipe.” The idea is the scarf was knit in the shape of a wide pipe, so that it could be worn by just pulling it over one’s neck and head, eliminating the need for separate scarf and hat. In the U.S. that style of scarf is known roughly as “infinity.” So I knit myself a white chunky infinity scarf of a mostly wool – blend yarn and posted a photo on my Facebook page to brag about my skills. Immediately I had several people asking for one of their own! So, I knit a gray one for my BFF… then a red one for my mother-in-law… now I can’t stop knitting. It’s a very gratifying hobby – it has both a meditating quality and the satisfaction of having created something with your own hands, which it seems like we do less and less these days as everything is mass-produced. I would knit ones for my sister and sister-in-law, but they live in California and Florida, respectively, and have little need for chunky wool scarves.

So, to satisfy my need to keep knitting, I’ve opened up an Etsy shop, Sophia Scarf, named after my sweetie-pie niece, Sophie. Hope you take a minute to go and check it out. I am off to learn how to knit a cable-design! Happy holidays and wish you all the best in the upcoming New Year!

 

This entry was posted in LIFE/STYLE and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New wintertime hobby

  1. upsidediy says:

    I would love to learn to knit. Your scarf is beautiful. The thickness of the yarn looks so warm. You’ve done a beautiful job. The best of luck to you in your etsy adventure. I imagine you selling out of everything! ✽ ✾ ✿ ❀

    • Thanks so much!! I unfortunately ended up closing the Etsy page. Got all caught up in the fun of it but just didn’t have the time to keep it going among all the other things in life. Gotta prioritize! thanks for following my blog – hope you enjoyed other posts, too 🙂

  2. Lena says:

    Those chunky knits are extremely chic nowadays!!! Congrats on opening a store; I will definitely visit!!

Leave a Reply

