Retrospective

I don’t know what I have been doing, but I feel like I have been so darn busy the past few weeks. Too busy to post anything interesting, apparently. I am currently working on organizing some photos from our Labor Day weekend trip to Colorado, so will be posting about that soon, along with hopefully some fun Russian recipes (I have many ideas of what to post, just need to bring them to fruition!).

In the meantime, I’ve been finding myself a bit nostalgic for my younger years, and specifically, some of my favorite Russian music and movies. I remember when I first started high school here in the U.S., a girl in my class actually asked me “Do y’all have music in Russia?” Never mind the fact you can’t step into a store without hearing Tchaikovsky’s “Nutcracker” during the holidays, but yes, we do have music and some of it ain’t too shabby!! So, just for fun, I thought I’d post some of my favorite Russian music videos of the 80s and 90s. Fortunately, it seems as though there is nothing you can’t find on Youtube these days.

“Pink Flamingo” by Alena Sviridova (Розовый Фламинго)

“Moscow doesn’t believe in tears” by Valeriya (Москва слезам не верит)

“Call me” by Kristina Orbakaite (As a teen, I was obsessed with her hair and make-up in this video).

“My Love” by Igor Tal’kov. (This was a beautiful man and talented musician who died young under suspicious circumstances. There was speculation among the public that he was a victim of a government conspiracy to crack down on opposition. In the 80s, Talkov sang a lot of politically charged songs directed at the collapsing Communist regime.)

If you have heard Russian pop music before, let me know – what’s your favorite? If you have not, let me know what you think!! Enjoy!

This entry was posted in LIFE/STYLE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

