Salmon Patties with Grilled Polenta

 

DSCN0665

It’s a beautiful morning here. Too early still for the stifling heat, so I thought I’d bring my laptop outside, have a coffee on the patio, and post about dinner from the other night. I’ve got Sugar faithfully by my side and a splash of Rumchata in my coffee – it’s going to be a good Sunday!

As I have said before, I am a busy working adult like any other. So, I love easy and quick, but still delicious and healthy dinners. This colorful dinner was no exception. From start to finish, it took about 30 minutes, along with the mayo/lime sauce, and it was a big hit. The salmon patties were delicately flavored with fresh dill, the polenta was crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Usually I have a salmon patty leftover from this dinner, to take for lunch the next day, but this dinner was so yummy, hubby made 4 big patties disappear.

DSCN0667

For SALMON PATTIES:

1 can salmon (bones and all)

1 egg

1 tablespoon fresh dill

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1/2 medium yellow onion, finely chopped

2/3 cup panko bread crumbs

2 full tablespoons mayonnaise

salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients together thoroughly with a spoon.  Pre-heat some olive oil with a touch of butter and fry salmon patties  until crispy and browned on both sides.

In the meantime, have an indoor grill preheated for your grilled polenta. I use pre-cooked organic polenta that comes in little tubes. Most grocery stores have them in the pasta aisle. Just slice the polenta in roughly half-inch thick circles, dry with a paper towel, sprinkle with salt and pepper on both sides, spray with a cooking spray, and grill until they have grill marks on both sides.

(As a side note: I did a bit of research into the difference between polenta and grits, seeing as both are made with corn. Turns out, it has to do with the type of corn – white corn for grits, yellow for polenta – and the corn is ground up thicker for grits, and more finely for polenta. You learn something new every day!)

Mayo/Lime Sauce

This was perfect drizzled over both the salmon cakes and the polenta – just whisk all the ingredients together.

2 teaspoons mayo

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

Juice of half a lime

Hubby and I had a conversation about this sauce that went something like this:

Hubby: I like this sauce, it adds a little….

Me: Zazz??

Hubby: I was thinking more Zing.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Other Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

