My travel “bucket list”

I’ve traveled around a little bit in my lifetime, but not nearly enough. Certainly not as much as I would like. Sometimes I think about all the amazing places in the world and I get overwhelmed and gripped with panic that I will someday perish having never seen most of them. Why else are we on this planet if not to see and experience as much of it as possible?? Of course, I also understand that travel is a function of a lot of things, including time, finances, health, and… time and finances. So I’ve decided to make a list of places that are currently the most fascinating to me, and hopefully, as the years go by, I can cross them off my “bucket list” one by one. This list is not necessarily exhaustive and not in any particular order of preference. Here they are (images courtesy of Google):

BLUE LAGOON – Reykjavik, Iceland.

bluelagoon

More than just a title of an 80s movie, the Blue Lagoon is a natural geothermal lagoon outside of Reykjavik, with a hotel/spa built around it. The bottom of the lagoon is lined with mineral-rich white clay, reputed to help with a number of health and skin conditions.

PAMUKKALE – Turkey.

PamukPamukkale-Turkey[2]

Another nature-made hot springs site, this one in Turkey. The minerals and flowing water in the landscape have created these natural “terraces” and heated “pools.” I think this looks like something out of a science-fiction or fantasy film – in a good way.

MOSQUITO BAY – Puerto Rico, USA.

puerto rico

Mosquito Bay (also known as Bioluminescent Bay) is a popular destination for Puerto Rico visitors, due to the presence of bioluminescent plankton – tiny half-plant/half-animal  organisms in the water that light up in the night when disturbed by movement. Visitors can take midnight kayak tours  or even swim among the plankton, which I imagine would feel something like swimming in a starry sky.

VENICE – Italy.

venice_2304966b[1]

I don’t know anyone who wouldn’t want to visit Venice. Aside from the obvious romance of getting around by canals and bridges (much more interesting than highways), there is also the possibility that this legendary city is slowly sinking under rising sea waters around it. (You may be starting to notice my penchant for waterfront and hot-spring related travel – must have something to do with being a water sign according to the Zodiac 🙂

LONDON – England.

london

The home of both the royal family and Bridget Jones – need I say more??

SOCHI – Russian Federation.

Sochisochi[1]sochi_russia[1]

Sochi was one of those places that I heard about growing up, but never got to visit. It was the resort town of the Russian rich and famous, and the most tropical climate you will find anywhere in Russia. I am excited to remind everyone that Sochi has also been selected as the home of the 2014 Winter Olympic Games. As a mascot of the 2014 Olympics, they have apparently revived the Olympic bear (my aunt from Moscow actually just sent us the official stuffed toy!) – first made popular during the 1980 Moscow Olympics.

SANTORINI – Greece.

santorini

What can I say? There is just something about that dreamy stark white architecture against the turquoise blue waters – that just makes Santorini look like heaven on Earth!

PROVENCE – France.

provence

Okay, so technically, I can cross this one off the list, as I’ve already been to Provence back in 1997 during a summer semester in France. BUT… seeing those fields of lavender only once in your lifetime is not enough.

P.S.

I intended to also include India on this list. That colorful country has such rich culture – yoga, the festival of colors, tikka masala (mmm…), the Kama Sutra… I could go on and on. Unfortunately, recent events in regards to violence against women caused me to hesitate. I hope that in the near future, justice will be served, the legal system will be used to protect all demographics equally and I will once again be proud to include India on my travel “bucket list.”

Do you have a favorite place you would like to visit or have already been to? Leave a comment below and share!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My travel “bucket list”

  1. Pingback: The Most Exciting Places to Travel

Leave a Reply

