FEELING THANKFUL

Let’s face it, most of us spend a lot of time every year – maybe even every day! – thinking about what we don’t have, what we wish we had or did, and all the ways our lives could be better if only this or that… Thanksgiving is a time to think about the opposite – what we do have; what we have been able to accomplish or obtain. A time to think about those who have less and to appreciate all those things that we may be taking for granted; all the things that are easily accessible to you and yours, while on the other end of the world/country/street someone struggles.  You may gripe about your job, while a next-door neighbor would be glad to have any kind of work so he can feed his children. I think that true happiness and contentment in life can come only from appreciation of what we have, and not regret over what we don’t.  So, take a little while this Thanksgiving, look around you, and make a mental list of what blessings you may be overlooking in the daily grind (see if you can come up with at least 10). Think about what your life would be like without them. They can be big things or small things. I guarantee that just a few minutes of meditation on all that is positive in your life will leave you with a better outlook and a clearer understanding of what our priorities should be in this confusing world.

I am thankful for:

1) First and foremost – and always – my family. I would be nothing without them. Not to mention I wouldn’t be here!

2) My friends. When it comes to friends, I prefer quality over quantity.

3) The fact that all of the above-referenced people (as well as myself) are in good health. Health should always be a number one priority. Everything else can come in due time.

4) That my lovely husband does the dishes AND the laundry. 😉

5) That my car is still running 10 years later and hopefully for 10 more years!

6) That I am friends with my office colleagues – after all, most of us spend more time at work than we do at home.

7) That I can afford to buy good food, a stove on which to cook it, and a phone with which to snap photos of it!

8) Books

9) Humidifiers

10)  Global warming (Okay, that’s just a joke, but seriously, I am loving this toasty November).

What are you thankful for??

Reply back with your list and share your happy thoughts!

This entry was posted in LIFE/STYLE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

