EGG SALAD

A few months ago I decided to try a vegan diet for 30 days. I went without any meat, seafood, or dairy products for an entire month, no problem!! Strangely enough, though, I couldn’t bear to give up one animal product – eggs!! So I would find myself “cheating” on my vegan diet every Saturday morning with some scrambled eggs on top of sautéed spinach… mmm… Eggs have consistently been my favorite food for as long as I can remember. I was a picky eater as a child and yet I would never turn down an egg in any shape or form. Russians would even drink raw eggs yolks for the vitamins sometimes, and I would do that, too!! Unfortunately, I was allergic to eggs, so mom would only allow me one egg every few weeks or so. I begged for them. Eventually my body must’ve given up fighting, or I grew out of the allergy, because I eat eggs all I want these days and I am fine.

So, eggs are my favorite food, and they are one of the more healthy proteins you can eat, even with the bad rap they’ve gotten in the past for their cholesterol content – a lot of the cholesterol in eggs is actually good cholesterol, not the bad kind.  Plus, they are low in fat and pretty high in Vitamin A and iron. Not to mention, delicious!! So when I had to come up with a light dinner option for a theater-in-the-park picnic with my friend Deb, I decided on some egg salad – served on croissants, of course!! Mais oui!

EGG SALAD

This recipe will make about 4 servings.

You will need:

6 large hardboiled eggs – chopped ( I keep two of the yolks, mostly b/c too much yolk makes the egg salad too mushy, I find)

Half a small onion (red or yellow)

3-4 small dill pickles

3 tablespoons of sour cream (I prefer sour cream as opposed to mayo in several recipes for flavor as well as health properties. However, sour cream contains quite a bit of water, so I would not recommend keeping the egg salad around for more than a day, or the liquid will start to separate.)

1 tablespoon fresh dill (I buy fresh dill in big bunches at the farmers’ market in the summer, when it’s plentiful and cheap, then chop it finely and freeze in a glass container. I find that it keeps wonderfully and retains that fresh dill flavor and color)

salt and pepper to taste – about half teaspoon of each.

Finely chop the onion and dill pickles while the eggs are boiling.

Once the eggs are cooled and chopped, add the eggs, sour cream, dill, and salt and pepper. Mix well. I like to serve egg salad on croissants, with a lettuce leaf on the bottom, to catch some of the mess. Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Other Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

